The Power of Small Business

This week June 17th through June 21st has been designated National Small Business Week.  Small businesses are a valuable asset to the nation’s economy and have more of an impact in our lives then you might think.

Check out some of these surprising and amazing facts about small businesses:

  • 28 million small businesses in the U.S. – Out numbering corporations over 1000 to 1
  • 70% of small businesses are owned by a single person
  • Small businesses employ 57% of the private sector workforce
  • Only 2% of small businesses are franchises — most (54%) are home-based
  • 60 to 80% of all new jobs come from small businesses

So as you can see small business is BIG business here in the U.S. For someone like me my small business has become my job, instead of working for another larger company. There are many reasons that people start a small business. For me I had two simple reasons: 1). I had lost my job in the retail industry, but more important is reason 2). I am a single dad whose wife died after a 2 year battle with Leukemia. We have 3 kids and for me I decided that caring for them and being an at home parent was too important so I looked into the possibilities of starting a stay at home business.

I opened Pure Scented CandlesNational Small Business Week in November 2010. I loved the idea of creating my own product to sell. I have had a wonderful time learning the candles making process and always looking for a new and creative ways to make candles. It is also fun involving my kids in the business. I am always busy with my kids, but my hours are flexible. As I write this article I am in between picking up kids from different activities.

So as you are out shopping our looking for a service you need, I hope you will keep us small businesses in mind – you’ll probably notice that there are quite a few us out here. And if you are looking for or enjoy scented candles, I hope you’ll try Pure Scented Candles – we hand make every candle fresh when you order.

Leave a Reply

